Sydney Swans

Sydney Swans AFL club

Sydney Swans AFL logoAbout
The Sydney Swans have been based in Sydney since the South Melbourne Football Club was relocated to Sydney in 1982. Sydney was the first club in the competition to be based outside Victoria. The Swans play their home games at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

The South Melbourne Football Club was founded in 1874 and was strong through the 1880s. It won three premierships in 1909, 1918 and 1933 before experiencing 72 years without a premiership, the longest premiership drought of any club. The club broke the drought in 2005, and has won one more premiership since in 2012.

The club song is known as “Cheer, Cheer The Red and The White” and is to the tune of the Notre Dame Victory March.

Sydney Swans

Home Ground: Sydney Cricket Ground
Address: PO Box 173, Paddington NSW 2021
Established: 1874
Debut season: 1897
President: Andrew Pridham
CEO: Andrew Ireland
Coach: John Longmire
Premierships: 5 – 1909, 1918, 1933, 2005, 2012
Song: Cheer, cheer the red and the white
Phone: (02) 9339 9123