Czech Republic map
The Czech Republic is a landlocked country in Central Europe. The country borders Poland to the northeast, Germany to the west and northwest, Austria to the south and Slovakia to the east.

The Czech Republic and the Slovak Republic were created as separate States on 1 January 1993 on the territory of the former Czechoslovakia.

Water from the landlocked Czech Republic flows to 3 different seas: the North Sea, Baltic Sea and Black Sea.

The Czech Republic also leases the Moldauhafen, a 30,000-square-metre lot in the middle of the Hamburg Docks, which was awarded to Czechoslovakia by Article 363 of the Treaty of Versailles, to allow the landlocked country a place where goods transported down river could be transferred to seagoing ships. The territory reverts to Germany in 2028.

AFI Czech Republic logo

The objectives of AFI Czech Republic include:

  • Encouraging participation at the grassroots level, with a focus on youth and community development
  • Establishing Footy 9s in the Czech school sports curriculum at both primary and secondary level
  • Introducing Footy 9s as a university sport in the Czech Republic
  • Providing players with the opportunity to compete in competitions at school and club level in the Czech Republic
  • Establishing National Teams (men & women) to compete in matches against other countries
  • Securing recognition of Footy 9s as an official sport in the Czech Republic

If you are interested in being involved, please contact us.