Estonia map
Estonia is the smallest of the three Baltic Republics covering an area of 45,227 square kilometres. Situated on the northeastern edge of the Baltic Sea, Estonia borders Latvia in the south and the Russian in the east. Estonia’s population is approximately 1.3 million. The capital of Estonia is Tallinn.

There is 3,794 km of coastline marked by numerous bays, straits, and inlets. The number of islands and islets is estimated at some 1,500. Two of them are large enough to constitute separate counties: Saaremaa and Hiiumaa.

After centuries of Danish, Swedish and German rule, the native Estonians started to yearn for independence during the period of national awakening while being governed by the Russian Empire. Established on 24 February 1918, the Republic of Estonia came into existence towards the end of World War I.

The Estonian language is closely related to Finnish but not to the languages of either of the other Baltic republics, Latvia and Lithuania, or to Russian.

AFI Estonia logo

The objectives of AFI Estonia include:

  • Encouraging participation at the grassroots level, with a focus on youth and community development
  • Establishing Footy 9s in the Estonian school sports curriculum at both primary and secondary level
  • Introducing Footy 9s as a university sport in Estonia
  • Providing players with the opportunity to compete in competitions at school and club level in Estonia
  • Establishing National Teams (men & women) to compete in matches against other countries
  • Securing recognition of Footy 9s as an official sport in Estonia

If you are interested in being involved, please contact us.