Malta map
The Republic of Malta consists of an archipelago situated centrally in the Mediterranean, located 93 km south of Sicily and 288 km east of Tunisia. Only the three largest islands — Malta Island (Malta), Gozo (Ghawdex), and Comino (Kemmuna) — are inhabited.

Malta covers just over 300 km² in land area, making it one of World’s smallest and most densely populated countries. Its de facto capital is Valletta and the largest city is Birkirkara.

The main island is made up of many small towns, which together form one metropolitan area with a population of 368,250 (majority of the population of the island). Therefore, Malta can be considered a city-state.

Malta’s location has historically given it great strategic importance as a naval base, and a succession of powers, including the Phoenicians, Romans, Moors, Normans, Sicilians, Spanish, Knights of St. John, French and British, have ruled the islands. Malta has two official languages: Maltese and English.

AFI Malta logo

The objectives of AFI Malta include:

  • Encouraging participation at the grassroots level, with a focus on youth and community development
  • Establishing Footy 9s in the Maltese school sports curriculum at both primary and secondary level
  • Introducing Footy 9s as a university sport in Malta
  • Providing players with the opportunity to compete in competitions at school and club level in Malta
  • Establishing National Teams (men & women) to compete in matches against other countries
  • Securing recognition of Footy 9s as an official sport in Malta

If you are interested in being involved, please contact us.