Tonga Map
The Kingdom of Tonga is a sovereign state and an archipelago in the South Pacific Ocean, comprising 176 islands scattered over 700,000 square kilometres of ocean in the South Pacific. 52 of the islands are inhabited.

The Kingdom stretches over a distance of about 800 km in a north-south line located at about a third of the distance from New Zealand to Hawaii.

The largest island, Tongatapu, on which the capital city of Nuku’alofa is located, covers 257 square kilometres.

Tonga is the last Polynesian monarchy. A former British protectorate, Tonga became fully independent in 1970, though it was never formally colonised. Endowed with tropical beaches, rainforest and active volcanoes, it has a growing tourist industry.

AFI Tonga logo

The objectives of AFI Tonga include:

  • Encouraging participation at the grassroots level, with a focus on youth and community development
  • Establishing Footy 9s in the Tongan school sports curriculum at both primary and secondary level
  • Introducing Footy 9s as a university sport in Tonga
  • Providing players with the opportunity to compete in competitions at school and club level in Tonga
  • Establishing National Teams (men & women) to compete in matches against other countries
  • Securing recognition of Footy 9s as an official sport in Tonga

If you are interested in being involved, please contact us.