Africa Games logo
The African Games are a continental multi-sport event held every four years, organized by the African Union (AU) with the Association of National Olympic Committees of Africa (ANOCA) and the Association of African Sports Confederations (AASC).

All of the competing nations are from the African continent. The first Games were held in 1965 in Brazzaville, Congo.

Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo Republic, Congo Democratic Republic, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius | Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda

Athletics, Badminton, Baseball, Basketball, Boxing, Canoeing, Chess, Cycling, Diving, Equestrian, Fencing, Football, Gymnastics, Handball, Field hockey, Judo, Karate, Kick-boxing, Netball, Rowing, Sailing, Shooting, Softball, Squash, Swimming, Table tennis, Taekwondo, Tennis, Triathlon, Volleyball, Weightlifting, Wrestling

Africa map

Footy as a Demonstration Sport
Footy was included as a demonstration sport in the 2011 Africa Games in Maputo, Mozambique. An indigenous team traveled from Australia to play Mozambique in Maputo (see the video below).

2023 Africa Games
The 2019 Africa Games were held in Lusaka, Zambia. Our aim is to lobby for the inclusion of Footy 9s as a demonstration sport in the 2023 Africa Games, which will be held in Ghana.

Africa Games Footy