South Pacific Games logo
The Pacific Games is a multi-sport event, much like the Olympic Games, with participation exclusively from countries around the South Pacific Ocean. It is held every four years and began in 1963. The most recent Pacific Games were held in Apia, Samoa in 2019.

The games governing body is the Pacific Games Council. Membership of the Council includes internationally recognised National Multisport Organisations within countries and territories who are members of the Pacific Community. There are currently 22 members. Fifteen members are also member associations of the Oceania National Olympic Committees (ONOC).

American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tahiti, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna

Pacific map

Core Sports
The number of Pacific Games core sports was increased from 14 to 16, effective for the 2023 Games. The core sports are required to be included at every edition of the games:
Athletics, Basketball, Boxing, Football, Golf, Judo, Outrigger Canoeing, Rugby 7s, Sailing, Swimming, Table Tennis, Taekwondo, Tennis, Triathlon, Volleyball (indoor & beach), Weightlifting

Optional Sports
There are 21 sports optional for inclusion at a games, as selected by the host nation’s organising committee:
Archery, Badminton, Baseball, Bodybuilding, Cricket, Cycling, Field Hockey, Handball, Karate, Lawn Bowls, Netball, Powerlifting, Rugby League 9s, Shooting, Softball, Squash, Surfing, Touch Rugby, Wrestling

2023 Pacific Games
The next Pacific Games will be held in Honiara, Solomon Islands in 2023.

AFI will lobby for the inclusion of Footy 9s as a demonstration sport in the 2023 Pacific Games.

Rugby League Nines at the Pacific Games