Pan American Games logo
The Pan American Games (also known as the Pan Am Games) is a major sporting event in the Americas featuring summer sports. The competition is held among athletes from nations of the Americas, every four years in the year before the Summer Olympic Games. The Pan American Sports Organization (PASO) is the governing body of the Pan American Games movement, whose structure and actions are defined by the Olympic Charter.

The Pan American Games Movement consists of international sports federations (IFs), National Olympic Committees (NOCs) that are recognized by PASO, and organizing committees for each specific Pan American Games.

All 41 countries whose National Olympic Committee is recognized by the Pan American Sports Organization (PASO) compete at the Pan American Games – Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Virgin Islands

The 2019 Pan American Games in Lima included 3 new sports – surfing, bodybuilding and skateboarding.

2023 Pan American Games
The next Pan American Games will be in Santiago, Chile in 2023.

AFI will lobby to seek the inclusion of Footy 9s as a demonstration sport in the 2023 Pan American games.

Highlights of the 2019 Pan American Games